One seat left to fill on Kent’s Architectural Review Board

Kent City Council voted to approve several board appointments at Wednesday’s meeting but left one position on the Architectural Review Board open.

Two incumbents on the ARB have terms expiring this year, and five council votes were required to install candidates for the coming term. Council members voted to retain incumbent ARB member Dennis Saxe. 

While council members Tracy Wallach and Mike DeLeone championed returning incumbent Kevin Koogle to his seat, Roger Sidoti, Gwen Rosenberg, Heidi Shaffer Bish, Robin Turner, Garret Ferrara and John Kuhar opposed his return.

Jack Amrhein was absent from the meeting.

Valerie Landis, a newcomer to Kent who recently found herself at odds with the ARB and successfully appealed its ruling to city council, also vied for a seat on that board. Her bid was likewise rejected, with John Kuhar casting the sole vote in her favor.

Council will re-advertise for the open seat.

Council seated Robert Rummel on the city’s Board of Building Appeals and Steven Protzman on its Board of Zoning Appeals, both by unanimous vote.

+ posts

Wendy DiAlesandro is a former Record Publishing Co. reporter and contributing writer for The Portager.

Subscribe for free

Join 5,689 other Portage County residents reading locally owned news. Subscriptions are always free, but you can choose to upgrade later if you find our work valuable.